Configuring Premium Content (Gating Content) on your Site

I know what you are thinking... What in the heck is "gated content"? I know, we're with you on that one and we want to help you to understand the basics of understanding and setting up gated content.

Here's how it works:

Overview
Unstack allows users with Full+ subscription to designate any page or article as "premium". When a page is enabled as premium users must register a free account or purchase a paid subscription. This tool is intended for businesses who want to restrict premium content to their paying customers, such as a media website, or for businesses who want to restrict certain content to generate more leads from incoming traffic.

                                         Gated_content_settings.png



Free vs Paid content gating

Free Registered accounts
When paid content is designated as premium, you must select what level of subscription is
required to view the page. The most basic subscription is requiring people to create an account.
When selected, users will need to register with your site. Once they complete the registration form they will have an account they sign in and out of on your website. When signed in, they will be able to view all premium content that requires an account to view.
content_locked.PNG
Requiring a paid subscription
You can also add the additional permissions to require the user to have an active paid
subscription. This is most often used for premium content on media and membership websites.
To enable this, you must have the Stripe integration connected to your account. When Stripe is connected you will be able to choose the specific required subscription that users need to have. Once you choose this and save the page, users are presented with a two step checkout process: first, creating an account,
and second, entering their credit card to purchase a paid subscription.
Subscriber management
All subscribers can be seen in your Unstack contacts, including contact information, charges for premium content, pages views, and their life-time value. If a user wishes to cancel their subscription, you should cancel the subscription directly in Stripe. Unstack periodically synchronizes and updates subscription information.

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Share